Past, Present, Future

Last Sunday, Bishop Conlon installed me as pastor of Triumph of the Cross. WTOV and the Herald Star did a great job covering the event. However, one of the parts of the WTOV interview that got edited out was my acknowledgement that I understand that parishioners are sad that their parishes are closing; some are angry. There is no painless way to do this. I, myself, have ministered to the people of four of the six closing parishes – all great experiences. I, too, am sad to see them closing even though I understand the situation we face.

Despite the sadness and anger, I hope you can also share my optimism for the future. I have made my theme the words of our beloved, late Holy Father, John Paul II:

“‘Put out into the deep!’ These words [of Jesus] ring out for us today, and they invite us to remember the past with gratitude, to live in the present with enthusiasm and to look forward to the future with confidence.”

-Fr. Tim McGuire

