Preliminary Drawing of the New Cathedral in Today’s “Steubenville Register”

On the front page of today’s edition of The Steubenville Register is a preliminary conceptual drawing of the front of Triumph of the Cross Church, along with a series of Questions and Answers from Bishop Conlon about the new Cathedral.

Added August 20: We’ve also posted a couple of the architects’ conceptual drawings on our Parish Website.

As one of the members of the Building Committee, I can tell you that we’ve been very pleased with the work being done by Meacham & Apel Architects. They’re as enthusiastic about our new church and cathedral as we are! This is truly a group effort – pastors and laity coming from different parishes bringing different gifts and perspectives, and architects who truly listen to the ideas and concerns of parishoners and priests – peacefully guided by the Holy Spirit.

When I began writing this, I hadn’t intended to “wave the flag” about our architects or the building committee, but as I reflected on our many meetings and discussions since we began our work last Fall, I realized how blessed I am to be part of this process on behalf of my parish community and the diocese. We have a long way to go and many tasks to accomplish before Triumph of the Cross is dedicated and we worship there together, but I have no doubt that God will continue guiding us each step of the way as He has so far.

Jim Coyle

